6.2 C
New York
October 19, 2018
Protein research takes Chemistry Nobel
World News

Protein research takes Chemistry Nobel

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Chemistry has been awarded to three scientists for their discoveries in enzyme research.

Americans Frances Arnold and George P Smith will share the prize with Briton Gregory Winter, who is based at Cambridge University.

This year’s winners used a technique called directed evolution to create new enzymes – which accelerate chemical reactions in biology.

The award is worth nine million Swedish kronor (£770,686; $998,618).

Previous winners of the Nobel Prize in Chemistry

Image copyright

Image caption

A bacterial “motor” as seen with cryo-electron microscopy

2017 – Jacques Dubochet, Joachim Frank and Richard Henderson were awarded the prize for improving images of biological molecules

2016 – Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Fraser Stoddart and Bernard Feringa shared the prize for the making machines on a molecular scale.

2015 – Discoveries in DNA repair earned Tomas Lindahl and Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar the award.

2014 – Eric Betzig, Stefan Hell and William Moerner were awarded the prize for improving the resolution of optical microscopes.

2013 – Michael Levitt, Martin Karplus and Arieh Warshel shared the prize, for devising computer simulations of chemical processes.

2012 – Work that revealed how protein receptors pass signals between living cells and the environment won the prize for Robert Lefkowitz and Brian Kobilka.

Source BBC News

Related posts

Adultery no longer a crime in India


Why is it so hard for Africans to visit other African countries?


Typhoon Jebi: Japan battered by strongest storm in 25 years


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More