9.3 C
New York
October 18, 2018
Laser breakthroughs win physics Nobel
Top Stories

Laser breakthroughs win physics Nobel

Breaking news graphic

The 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics has been awarded to three scientists for their inventions in laser physics.

Arthur Ashkin, from the US, Gerard Mourou, from France, and Donna Strickland, from Canada, will share the nine million kronor (£770,686) prize.

Dr Ashkin developed a laser technique described as optical tweezers, which is used to study biological systems.

Drs Mourou and Strickland developed a way of generating high intensity and very short laser pulses.

Donna Strickland is only the third female physics laureate and the first woman in 55 years to win the prize.

Previous winners of the Nobel Prize in Physics

Image copyright
S.Ossokine/A.Buonanno (MPI Gravitational Physics)

Image caption

A computer simulation of gravitational waves radiating from two merging black holes

2017 – Rainer Weiss, Kip Thorne and Barry Barish earned the award for the detection of gravitational waves.

2016 – David Thouless, Duncan Haldane and Michael Kosterlitz shared the award for their work on rare phases of matter.

2015 – Takaaki Kajita and Arthur McDonald were awarded the prize the discovery that neutrinos switch between different “flavours”.

2014 – Isamu Akasaki, Hiroshi Amano and Shuji Nakamura won the physics Nobel for developing the first blue light-emitting diodes (LEDs).

2013 – Francois Englert and Peter Higgs shared the spoils for formulating the theory of the Higgs boson particle.

2012 – Serge Haroche and David J Wineland were awarded the prize for their work with light and matter.

Source BBC News

Related posts

England v India highlights: Alastair Cook remains unbeaten after Ravindra Jadeja scores 86 not out


US mid-term elections: You choose what happens


Ryanair crew ‘spent night on airport floor’ says union


This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More